Compass Marine edges out Fortis to win Governor’s Cup

The 2007 Governor’s Cup J/22 regatta, one of the highlights of the sailing calendar, has been won by Compass Marine after a close battle with a youth team on Fortis.

Compass Marine, helmed by Mike Farrington and crewed by Matt Diaz and Tomeaka McTaggart, actually tied for first place with Fortis, helmed by Mike Weber, the Sailing Director for the Cayman Islands Sailing Club (CISC), and crewed by four members of the CISC youth sailing programme.

But Compass Marine eventually was awarded the Cup on a tie-breaker.

Radium, helmed by David Carmichael and crewed by Alex Laing and Jennifer Ahearn, came in third.

Said Mr Weber: ‘The race was close. My team of Stuart Jennings, Nadeska Concha, Chris Delaney and Allena Rankine sailed very well. Although I was disappointed that we weren’t able to win the regatta, I was nevertheless proud of the team’s accomplishments and look forward to sailing with them again.’

Mr Weber also thanked financial firm Fortis for sponsoring the boat used in the race and its new set of sails.

Comments are closed.