Rotary holds its changeover

Rotary Club of Grand Cayman Central had its changeover evening recently at Grand Old House.

President Ms Sandy McFarlane welcomed everyone and reminded fellow Rotarians that the Rotary Club of Grand Cayman Central received its charter from Rotary International on 30 October, 1986.

She congratulated the three founding members, in attendance, PAG William (Bill) Rewalt, Past President David Phipps and Past President Altee Thompson.

The signature projects for the Rotary Club Central continue to be the bus shelters, cleaning up the beaches, home repair projects, Junior Achievement, improving and enhancing literacy, Take a Kid Fishing, the science fair and now the burglary prevention programme.

This was also a time to honour the past presidents and there was a record attendance of past presidents this year who were thanked for their previous and continuing service to the club.

The evening was also made special by Henry Muttoo being made an honorary member of the Rotary Club of Grand Cayman Central. His passion, dedication and creative drive has been a major catalyst for change and growth in the cultural arena in Cayman since he started working here 25 years ago, states a press release. Nowadays due to Henry’s efforts to promote excellence in local arts and culture the population can point to several Caymanian artists whose accomplishments form part of the national identity. Henry has brought national and international attention to the work of cultural trailblazers such as Radley Gourzong and Gladwin ‘Lassie’ Bush. He has spent countless hours mentoring younger artists among them Frankie Flowers Jr., Rita Estevanovich and Quincy Brown, all of whom literally grew up on stage at the Harquail Theatre.

He is perhaps best characterized by a sense of community spirit, fairness and a deep rooted work ethic that has gained him respect both here and abroad for his personal and professional qualities.

The Rotary Club always welcome new members who may contact any of the following Board members for more information or details:


Sandra McFarlane

President Elect

Neville Smith


Andrew Small


Novelette Ebanks

Sergeant at Arms

Ben LeSueur

Club Service

Desiree Charles

Special Projects

Greg Vasic

Vocational Service

Wil Pineau

International Service

Juliet Osborne


Fiona Moseley

Community Service

Ken Guiste

Vice President

Paul Byles

Immediate Past President

George Meggs


PP Altee Thompson

Past Presidents have been the following:

1986 – 88

John Furze (deceased)

1988 – 89

Linford Pierson

1989 – 90

CA ‘Sammy’ Jackson

1990 – 91

Herman Wilson

1991 – 92

Donovan Smith

1992 – 93

John Mathewson

1993 – 94

J. William Rewalt

1994 – 95

Rex Crighton

1995 – 96

Jennison Nunez

1996 – 97

Everard Leacock

1997 – 98

Fred Speirs

1998 – 99

Mario Ebanks

1999 – 00

Richard Lewis

2000 – 01

David Phipps

2001 – 02

Altee Thompson

2002 – 03

Peter Schmid

2003 – 04

Len Layman

2004 – 05

John Elliott

2005 – 06

Lyndhurst Bodden

2006 – 07

George Meggs

Comments are closed.