Caribbean award named after Jim Bodden

A Caribbean Public Service Award has been named after Cayman’s first national hero Mr. Jim Bodden.

Minister of Tourism Charles Clifford, Chief Officer, Mrs. Gloria McField-Nixon, along with the Cayman Islands delegation and Acting Director of Tourism, Mr. Shomari Scott, joined other Caribbean countries at the ACTS Gala Awards Dinner & Ball recently, said a press release.

The event, held at the Ronald Reagan Building & International Trade Centre in downtown Washington, D.C., celebrated the region’s music and dance, cultural heritage and historic accomplishments of people who have made an immeasurable impact on advancing the cause of the Caribbean.

The first award presented at the Gala was named for James “Mr. Jim” Manoah Bodden. The Caribbean Tourism Development Company, who is hosting ACTS, asked all Caribbean nations to nominate individuals to name the awards after; and following a great many votes by the CTO members, the Public Service Award was named after Mr. Jim. Mr. Jim was regarded by his contemporaries as a visionary who helped to politically lead the Cayman Islands into an era of progress through modernization, and was instrumental in establishing Cayman Airways, said the press release.

Mr. Jim’s daughter, Mary Trumbach, was on-hand as part of the Minister’s delegation, and assisted Mr. Clifford in presenting the award.

Minister Clifford was pleased with the CTO’s decision to name the award after Mr. Jim. ‘It was a great honour to witness this presentation and to recognize both the recipient’s contribution to Caribbean public service, and that of our first National Hero, Jim Bodden. Having Mr. Jim’s daughter on hand to present the award was a special treat.’

The recipient of this prestigious honour was Ambassador Curtis A. Ward from Jamaica for his work as an attorney, civil servant, Caribbean think-tank developer and former Ambassador of Jamaica. The award was presented with a warm tribute to James Manoah Bodden by Alec Sanguinetti, former Managing Director of Cayman Airways, current Director General, Caribbean Hotel Association.

Comments are closed.