New cup leader

Live golf scores here!

Thursday 7 August 2008, the second day of the 52nd HSBC Caribbean Annual Golf Championships at the North Sound Golf Club, saw a new leader in the main Hoeberman Cup. Mauricio Muniz of Puerto Rico had two steady rounds of 69 to finish in first spot at 4 under. The overnight leader Ben Martin of Trinidad & Tobago, together with OECS’s Adrian Norford, are in second spot just one stroke off.

Good news for Cayman is that Colin Mackay and Trent Riggins are now in first position in the Ramon Baez Trophy with a total of 7 under after the first two rounds. Hard on the heels in the Francis/Steel-Perkins Cup are the Cayman team of Robert Chilman and Stephen Heal in second position in this section of the tournament.

Samantha Widmer of Cayman has dropped a few strokes to finish in fifth spot in the female section of the tournament, the George Teale Cup, while Cayman occupies the fourth spot in the team rankings. The five man Cayman team have improved their position in the Hoeberman Cup competition by moving up to fourth spot thanks mainly to improved performances by both Joel Dodson and Ali Hall-Jones.