Racers Break in the New Year

Local racers brought in 2009 in loud, tire-burning fashion last week.

Delroy Forbes

Delroy Forbes used this Camaro for victory
Photo: Matthew Yates

Breakers Speedway held an invitational race on New Year’s Day and attracted some 30 racers to rev their engines to the limit.

A sizeable crowd came out to watch the automotive excitement unfold from 3pm until 8pm.

The hundreds of onlookers were not disappointed as some of Cayman’s best drivers and fastest vehicles had impressive showings.

Racing would be spilt up into four classes according to 1/8 mile drag times and include an additional motorcycle division.

When the smoke cleared seven men would stand tall above the rest in Terry Ballard, Patrick Campbell, Delroy Forbes, Dwayne Forde, Kevin Johnson Deandre Simpson and Robert Thompson.

Delroy Forbes, in his lime green 1960s Chevrolet Camaro, would win the six second class and claim the US $750 first place prize.

In the seven second class celebrated local racer Kevin Johnson would capture victory behind the wheel of his legendary white Mitsubishi Evolution III and nab the US $500 first place prize.

Robert Thompson and his yellow late 1990s Ford Mustang would win the eight second class and the US $400 first place prize.

Local basketball prodigy Deandre Simpson would assert himself in a big way winning the nine second class and the US $250 first place prize in his white Nissan Silvia.

In the motorcycle open class Dwayne Forde would soar to victory and the US $250 first place prize on his bright green Suzuki GSX-R race bike.

In addition US$100 was awarded to the racers with the fastest elapsed time down the 1/8 mile strip in four segments: front-, rear- and all-wheel drive plus on a motorcycle.

Terry Ballard would set the mark in FWD with his blacked-out 2004 Dodge Neon SRT-4. Delroy Forbes set the RWD mark in his Camaro and Patrick Campbell set the AWD mark in his black Nissan Skyline GTR.

Dwayne Forde was excellent in all phases on his Suzuki as he set the fastest motorcycle e.t. mark.

Although many would try, no one could get their ride to a time of 5.999 seconds or lower. That would leave the US$1000 cash prize awarded for reaching that mark up for grabs.

Breakers Speedway Owner Robert Campbell expressed his pleasure with the outcome of the race.

‘It was a great success. There were lots of personal bests by most racers and there were no hitches with putting on the race.’