Club nets winners

On Saturday 31 January 2009, the Cayman Island Golf Association (CIGA) held its 14th annual President’s Trophy golfing championship at the North Sound Club.

Despite cool and extremely windy conditions which played havoc with many golfers’ swing, a full field of 64 players participated in the popular event.

Coming out victorious in the Men’s low net division was Dave Stewart. Stewart would be the only player to be under par with an impressive 70. Runner-up Brian Esau was one shot back at 71.

In the Ladies low net contest, Emma Woodhouse was a very deserving winner with a score of 72 and was closely followed by Jane Bird who shot a 74.

Bob Slatter was the Senior low net winner with a respectable 76, with runner-up Eustace Jeffers one off the pace. Jeffers low gross score of 80, however, was good enough to claim victory in the Senior Men’s low gross category.

Men’s low gross winner was Michael Wight with a solid 73 and Samantha Widmer took the Ladies low gross title with a 76.

Rounding out the list of winners for the tournament were closest-to-the-pin winners Phillip Wight and Judy Van Liere on holes number 1 and 9 respectively.