Cayman in brief

Cabana moved

Due to the 27-29 March NORCECA Beach Circuit Volleyball Tournament, the Ministry of Communications, Works and Infrastructure in conjunction with the Recreations, Parks and Cemeteries Unit will temporarily remove a cabana from the West Bay Public Beach.

The cabana will be replaced following the event on Monday, 30 March.

Gas workshop

The Building Control Unit will host a fuel gas code and safety workshop from 8am-4pm on 25-26 March at the Marriott Beach Resort.

Plumbing contractors, building inspectors, liquid propane gas installers, architects, engineers, designers and maintenance personnel are invited to register by today.

For more information, call Chief Building Control Officer Emerson Piercy on 526-1521 or 769-1528.

Visiting vessel

The United States Navy vessel USS Samuel B. Roberts is scheduled to begin a six-day visit to Grand Cayman late this month.

This multi-purpose frigate will arrive on Sunday, 29 March, and depart on Friday, 3 April. It is 453 feet long, and has a complement of 202 enlisted men and 31 officers under Commander Chuck Sellers.

2010 holidays

The official Cayman Islands public holidays for 2010 are as follows:

Friday, 1 January – New Year’s Day

Monday, 25 January – National Heroes’ Day

Wednesday, 17 February – Ash Wednesday

Friday, 2 April – Good Friday

Monday, 5 April – Easter Monday

Monday, 17 May – Discovery Day

Monday, 14 June – Queen’s Birthday observance (to be confirmed)

Monday, 5 July – Constitution Day

Monday, 15 November – Remembrance Day

Monday 27 December – (as Christmas Day falls on a Saturday)

Tuesday, 28 December (Observed as Boxing Day as 26 Decembers falls on a Sunday).

0
0

NO COMMENTS