Fidelity finale is so fascinating

The Fidelity 2009 Fun Run Series enters its final phase tomorrow and organizers could not be more pleased with the activity to date.

Acker, left, and Walker will battle it out.

Acker, left, and Walker will battle it out.
Photo: Ron Shillingford

The intention was to create a chance for fitness improvement, a leisurely early morning stroll, a recreational run, a tune-up for longer distance events, a social meeting, family time and competition.

With the large number of Cadet Corps members present, and the similar surnames on the registration forms, along with the comparison of times achieved by individuals in week two as opposed to week one, the activity has proved extremely positive, as evidenced by the turnout of 199 and 228 on the second.

With Beth Schreader not present this past Saturday, the battle is on for podium honours in the ladies overall group between Julie-Anne Pearson, Dee-An Foster and Emily Davies.

Last week Julie-Anne led the way with 12 minutes and 27 seconds and Dee-An clocked 12:42, closely followed by Emily’s 12:46.

As far as the men’s overall bragging rights, the struggle could not be tighter for the top spot. Marius Acker had the measure of David Walker on the first encounter, but Walker turned the tables on his occasional training partner on the latest occasion.

They have each been a winner and runner-up, with Acker hitting 10:07 and 10:11, with Walker’s efforts earning him 10:20 and an improvement to 10:05. Everything is on the line this week, if both wake up in fine fettle tomorrow morning.

However, third men’s spot is up for grabs, between Mark Hogan and a trio of contenders in Russell Coleman, Martin Davies and Conrad Proud. Tom Stephens and James Ogden could also be spoilers if they hit the starting line.

Coleman turned in a 10:44 for third-best last Saturday, followed by first-timer David Conen in 10:54, with Hogan fifth.

With another big group expected for the ultimate collision, participants are asked to arrive early enough to facilitate registration, which begins at 6:30am in front of John Gray High School on Walkers Road.
Entry fee is $5. Upon presentation of finish cards, event shirts will be distributed. Water and refreshments will be available.

Also, vehicle drivers are requested not to park on Denham Thompson Way, in order to leave an open area for results and awards presentation.

  • For more information call 945-3970.