Watch gear-heads attack time again

Saturday sees the first Cayman
Motorsports Association’s Time Attack race for 2010.

With three full seasons now under
their belt, the association promises an exciting, professional and safe competition
this year for its members.

Valvoline/Parker’s will take the
position of title sponsor for the Time Attack season. Parker’s and the A.I.
Group of companies have been outstanding supporters in the past and the association
is delighted to partner with this company.

Their sponsorship helps Time Attack
return for another year and allows the association to direct funding towards
other areas of motorsports in Cayman (bear in mind the association held a drag
meet last weekend). 

This weekend’s event will take
place at the Progressive Loop, behind CUC where the usual track path will be
modified due to the newly built Cayman Karting Track taking up a corner of the
loop.  The event starts at 6pm sharp.

Registration and Tech Inspection
will take place tomorrow at Parker’s in Industrial Park at 7pm.  The association invites all “old and new”,
“expert and novice” drivers to compete in this event. 

As part of the further evolution of
Time Attack, only paid members will be allowed to participate fully in events
for 2010. The $25 membership fee can be paid at any association meeting and at
the registration and event this weekend. 

Also new this year is first timers
will be able to do one run free of charge with an experienced racer riding
along.  This will allow them to get a
feel for what Time Attack is all about, get some free advice and decide if the
sport is for them or not. 

As usual, paid members will be able
to accumulate points throughout the year in their respective classes for a
chance to win in their class at the end of the year.  Classes this year will be the Unlimited Class
and the Street Class. Unlimited will see fully-built race cars and cars sporting
tyres with a tread wear of 100 and lower. 

Street Class will be a fusion of
last year’s RWD, FWD and AWD classes into Two Wheel Drive and Four Wheel Drive to bring even more
competition to the field.

The association anticipates some
new and exciting vehicles to debut this year such as the Automotive Art Carbon
Fibre Nissan Z and Ian Charlery’s newly rebuilt Subaru Sti with a 2.2 litre

Some of last year’s stars have also
made a few tweaks and improvements. Gary Huggins in his Kimmar Toyota Starlet,
Bobby Hulse in his Toyota Altezza and Keith Tibbetts in his Valvoline Subaru
Sti should put on some great shows again this year.

Events will take places on the last
Saturday of each month once the weather permits and 2010 will also see the second
annual Al and Jay Memorial event in November. More details on the race will
come later.

The association’s board (President
Bobby Hulse, Vice President Wayne Kirkconnell, Secretary Keith Tibbetts and
Treasurer Ian Tibbetts) would like to thank Associated Industries and Valovline
for sponsoring this event.

For more information on the Cayman
Motorsports Association and how to become a member and get involved, please
email the Board at [email protected]

Comments are closed.