Electoral Boundary Commission begins work

The new Electoral Boundary
Commission held its first meeting last week and is inviting the public to help
it draw up new constituency boundaries.

The commission was set up after the
new Cayman Islands Constitution came into effect last November.

Chaired by Carl Dundas, with Norman
Bodden and Adriannie Webb as members, the commission met officially for the
first time on Friday

The commission’s first meeting
involved discussions of its terms of reference and an outline of the activities
it plans to undertake.

Its main task is to review the
electoral district boundaries and make recommendations regarding the proposal
for an 18-member legislature. The Legislative Assembly currently has 15

The commission’s report will be
presented to Governor Duncan Taylor by the end of May, and will then be tabled
in the Legislative Assembly.

Mr. Dundas is inviting members of
the public to send written or oral submissions relating to electoral district

The deadline for receipt of public submissions
is Friday, 7 May.

Registered voters, and people
qualified to be registered as voters, can make submissions.

While the commission prefers to
receive signed submissions, it will also accept anonymous contributions,
according to a press release on behalf of the commission. 

Written submissions can be mailed
to: The Electoral Boundary Commission, c/o Elections Office, P.O. Box
10120, Grand Cayman KY1 -1001, Cayman Islands. They may also be
hand-delivered to: The Elections Office, Smith Road Centre, 150 Smith Road (2nd
Floor); or emailed to: [email protected].

Oral submissions will require a
person to make an appointment to meet with the Commission.

For further information, contact
the Elections Office at 949-8047.