St. Matthew’s University Class of 2010 graduates

On 1 May 2010, one-hundred fifty
graduates participated in the commencement ceremony held at the Orlando World
Centre Marriott in Orlando, Florida.

Over 1,600 family members, friends,
faculty, students, administration and distinguished guests attended the
ceremony. Dr. David Salter, St. Matthew’s University Clinical Chief, presented
the commencement address and Chancellor John Marvin who presented the graduates
of the School of Medicine with their Doctor of Medicine (M.D.) degrees.
Graduates were then hooded by their Dean of Basic Sciences, Dr. Senthil Kumar.

Dr. John Randall, Dean of Clinical
Sciences and Chief Academic Officer, administered the Hippocratic Oath,
followed by Dr. Christopher Croley who addressed his fellow alumni on behalf of
the St. Matthew’s University’s Alumni Association. Dr. Croley reminded
graduates to stay focused, to realize anything is possible, and that the
opportunities that lie before them are infinite. Dr. Croley, who currently
serves on the SMU Board of Trustees, shared his experiences of being an Assistant
Professor of Anaesthesiology and Critical Care and being the Medicine Director
of a Surgical Intensive Care Unit at Rush University. He noted that this was
the beginning of the path that the graduates had chosen, and all their hard
work would be rewarded with every patient they came in contact with during
their residency.

The 2010 graduating class of
extraordinary men and women have committed themselves to more than 120 residencies
across 28 states. They have accepted positions in various specialities
including primary care, anaesthesiology, emergency medicine, family medicine,
internal medicine, neurology, OB/GYN, pathology, paediatrics, psychiatry,
surgery, and PMNR.


St. Matthew’s School of Medicine Class of 2010.
Photo: Submitted

Comments are closed.