Sarwan is confident even thouhgh shiv misses squad

Ramnaresh Sarwan has been named
Guyana captain for the Caribbean T20 tournament and will lead a squad that does
not include Shivnarine Chanderpaul. Sarwan, who missed the Test series against
South Africa due to an injured hamstring, makes a return to competitive cricket
in the competition starting July 22. The tournament comprises seven other teams
from and the winner qualifies for the Champions League Twenty20 in September.

Meanwhile, Darren Sammy, the
Windward Islands captain, has said he’ll be banking on the team’s bowling as it
prepares to compete in the same tournament.

The Windwards team includes several
players with international experience. Among them are openers Andre Fletcher
and Devon Smith; pacer Nelon Pascal; off-spinner Shane Shillingford and
leg-spinning all-rounder Rawl Lewis.

“I don’t see why we can’t come out
on top. Our strength is in our bowling and overall I would say the selectors
have picked a very good all-round team,” Sammy said. Our batting will rely
mainly on the experienced players – such as Smith, Fletcher, Lewis, Liam
Sebastien, and myself. Most of the players in the team have the ability to bat
and bowl so we have players who can contribute in two departments.

“We have Shillingford, Sebastien,
and Lewis who are very economical bowlers and I know they will do very well for
us. We also have a number of players who are coming through, and I’m very
satisfied with the squad assembled. I am confident we can go to Barbados,
qualify for the final four, and take it from there.”

Canada’s team for the event will be
led by Rizwan Cheema. The big news for them is the absence of Ashish Bagai due
to knee injury. He is set to undergo treatment in Toronto.

Guyana squad: Ramnaresh Sarwan
(capt), Narsingh Deonarine, Travis Dowlin, Sewnarine Chattergooon, Lennox Cush,
Christopher Barnwell, Davendra Bishoo, Derwin Christian, Esaun Crandon, Royston
Crandon, Jonathan Foo, Assad Fudadin, Steven Jacobs, Paul Wintz.

Windward Islands squad: Darren
Sammy (capt), Devon Smith, Andre Fletcher, Rawl Lewis, Liam Sebastien, Johnson
Charles, Donwell Hector, Craig Emmanuel, Lindon Lawrence, Keddy Lesporis, Gairy
Mathurin, Nelon Pascal, Shane Shillingford, Deighton Butler.

Canada squad: Rizwan Cheema (capt),
Harvir Baidwan, Trevin Bastiampillai, Geoff Barnett, Umar Bhatti, Hemnarine Chattergoon,
Khurram Chohan, Parth Desai, Tyson Gordon, Calvert Hooper, Usman Limbada, Hiral
Patel, Zubin Sukari, Hamza