Dodson tees up again

Local golf is swinging again thanks
to a major local tournament.

The Cayman Islands Golf Association
will be hosting the 18th Annual President’s Trophy competition on 25 September
at the North Sound Golf Club. The tournament has been a success over the years
as it attracts all different levels of golfers to compete in a handicapped
tournament event. 

The competition is open to all golf
association members or those wishing to join for the remainder of this
year.  Prize categories include: Mens,
Ladies, Junior Boys and Seniors. Trophy winners are the best 18 hole net

Last year, the Ladies category was
won by Nisha Bismillah who narrowly beat out defending champion Emma Woodhouse
by a single shot, with a personal best tournament net score of 66.  Dale Dickerson took the Mens title with a net
70, besting runner-up Jason Lovelock by two strokes and third place finisher
Robert Woods by three. In the Senior Mens division, Gordon Smith won the title
with a sterling 69, pipping runner-up Paul Sleep on a count back.

The tournament also features an
opportunity for those with low handicaps to place on the leaderboard. In 2009,
the Low Gross winners were Samantha Widmer with a score of 73, Joel Dodson on
71 in the Mens draw and Tracy Moore taking Senior honours with a 76.

Comments are closed.