Rock Hall of fame nominations announced

Also on the shortlist were Chic,
Donovan, Dr. John, J. Geils Band, LL Cool J, Darlene Love, Laura Nyro, Donna Summer,
Joe Tex, Tom Waits and Chuck Willis.

Ballots will be sent to more than
500 voters from the music industry who will select the inductees. They will be
announced in December the induction ceremony to be held on 14 March  2011 at the Waldorf Astoria hotel in New York.

“We believe our nominating
committee has put forth a list of artists that truly represents the wide
variety of music that defines rock and roll,” Joel Peresman, president of
the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation said in a statement.

To be eligible for nomination into
the Hall, acts must have released their first single or album at least 25 years
prior to the nomination year. The 2011 nominees had to release their first
recording no later than 1985.

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now