Young Caymanian leaders sought

Nominations for young Caymanians
between the ages of 20 and 35 are now being accepted for the 2011 Young
Caymanian Leadership Award. 

“Everyone knows an outstanding
leader that deserves recognition,” said Melissa Wolfe of the Leadership
Foundation. “We rely entirely on the community to nominate young Caymanians for
the YCLA. The onus is on each individual to ensure that special person is
nominated and therefore eligible for the award.” 

Anyone may nominate a young
Caymanian, including parents, siblings, co-workers, fellow church members,
friends or spouses. Deadline to submit is Saturday, 31 October.

“The foundation encourages the
public to identify and honour our young leaders with a nomination. Well-rounded
and dedicated young Caymanians surround us every day and they are effective
role models for our younger generation,” said Ms Wolfe.

Nominees must demonstrate strong
leadership qualities through their personal and professional accomplishments.
Determining factors include character, professional achievements, community involvement
and commitment to helping others.

Previous recipients include Collin
Anglin, Elroy Bryan, Stephen Ryan, Canover Watson, Jonathan Tibbetts, Cindy
Scotland, Steve Blair, Sara Collins, Dax Foster and Olivaire Watler.

The award is determined by a board
of 13 Cayman leaders who were selected for participation based on their
established positions in the community as well as their ability and willingness
to serve as role models for the younger generation.

The 2011 award will be presented
during the annual gala ceremony at the Ritz-Carlton, which will be televised
live on Cayman27.


Information packages have been
forwarded to the human resource departments of major companies.  Nomination forms may also be obtained by
calling Melissa
Wolfe at 916-8335, emailing
[email protected] or online at

Comments are closed.