Kiwanis install new officers

The Kiwanis Club of Grand Cayman
has installed new officers for the coming year.

At the annual installation dinner
last month, Mario Bennett, outgoing president, presented three special
recognition awards.

Mary McCallum was presented with
the President’s Award for Club Development through public relations and
fundraising; Monique Bush received the Distinguished Service Award for being
the most active new member; and Jerry Mazur and his wife Sonia were awarded Kiwanian
of the Year honours for their dedication to the club and its community

Former lieutenant governor and
founding member Ernest Foster formally inducted Wiekert Weber as the 37th
president of the Kiwanis Club of Grand Cayman.

Mr. Weber was awarded the Kiwanian
of the Year merit in 2008 for his successful work with the Key Leader event and
his promotion of MattSafe, a safety programme for the young drivers of Cayman.
He has continued to be involved in the Key Leader event by chairing the event,
which will take place on 22-24 October.

In addition, Mr. Weber has been a
Standing Executive Committee member of the Cayman Islands Compliance
Association for the past three years and works as a business process manager
for Citco Fund Services (Cayman Islands) Ltd. He has been a Kiwanis member for
over four years and the club welcomes him to the challenge of his new role as

Other new officers are: vice
president, Rayal Bodden; secretary, Linda Chapman-Key; and treasurer,
Jan-Michael Maw.

The new members of the board of
directors are: Roger Bodden, Millicent Cowan, Monique Bush, Martin Couch and
Vanesha McLean. Past Key Club Lt. Gov. Kadi Merren was inducted as the newest
member of the Kiwanis Club of Grand Cayman. Rose Kiffin, a teacher at Triple C,
and Vidalia Reserdes from St. Ignatius were inducted as Key Club Faculty

The Kiwanis Club members were also
honoured to have the president of the Rotary Club of Grand Cayman, Eric Bush,
as well as the president of Rotary Central, Wil Pineau, and the president of
Rotary Sunrise, Hendrik Van Genderen, on hand for the occasion. For additional
information, visit or contact President Wiekert Weber at
[email protected], or call 925-8109 or 916-6331. 

Comments are closed.