Get ready for carnival

Sweet Old Soca celebrated tonight in George Town

The popular and exciting Cayman Carnival Batabano is coming up within a couple of short months, and to get people in the mood there’s a fundraising event today, Wednesday, 16 March.

Sweet Old Soca takes place at the Rooftop Bar on Mary Street and marks the launch of the Batabano celebrations for 2011. Doors open at 6pm for ages 18 and older.

Entry is a $10 donation, which includes an Appleton drink ticket plus a chance to win a costume to be in the street parade.

Music comes from soca legends, including Sparrow, Baron, Crazy, Black Stallin and DJ Crazy Chris, with all the favourites to put the crowd into a frenzy.

The first 25 to arrive, say organisers, will get a Batabano shot and official Batabano Waver.

Every Wednesday at the Roof Top has been dubbed Carnival Wednesdays, which provide a host of opportunities for signing up to register and participate in scheduled events.

Schedules announced

At the moment, the full Batabano schedule, subject to alteration, includes: Wednesday, 23 March, Mas Band registration; Wednesday, 6 April, Art in the Heart registration; Wednesday, 13 April, food vendors registration; Wednesday, 20 April, LIME Listen and Learn.

Batabano Events include: Saturday, 23 April, Easter Egg Hunt; Wednesday, 27 April, Cocktail Competition; Thursday, 5 May, Masquerade Fete; Friday, 6 May, Friday Night Fete; Saturday, 7 May, Art in the Heart, Food Festival, Street Fete;

Friday, 13 May, the Last Lap Fete at Spotts Landing Dock; Saturday, 14 May, Batabano Teen Jam.

The Cayman Carnival Batabano is a registered nonprofit association that relies on the Government, the private sector and members of the public for financial support in order for Batabano to become a reality each year.

The carnival is presented by LIME and sponsors include Appleton, Cayman Islands Department of Tourism, Cayman Airways and the Caymanian Compass.

0
0

NO COMMENTS