Wolves have bite

Over the last month Cayman’s female
basketball talents have been on display. Now it is the men’s turn.

The 2011 national men’s basketball
league is set to commence on Thursday 31 March. The competition, put on by the
Cayman Islands Basketball Association, features seven teams. They are the
Wolves, Dominos Warriors, V-Cool Watersports Silver Bullets, Esso Blazers, Team
Philippines, Tarheels, Blazers and Heat.

Of that group most eyes will be on
Dwight O’Garro and the defending champions the Wolves, who have their eyes on a
three-peat. To reach that mark will not be easy for the George Town club as
they will have to once again overcome formidable sides such as the Warriors,
Silver Bullets and Blazers.

Games for Division One will take
place on Tuesdays (6 and 8pm), Thursdays (6 and 8pm)and Sundays (5 and
7pm).  Division Two games commence next
Tuesday 5 April and will be played on Wednesdays (6 and 8pm) and Sundays (3pm).

In division the focus is on the
Derek Bogle Insurance Warriors. Instead of taking the promotion the Warriors
will attempt their repeat their championship form as they take five other
clubs. Among them is youth basketball club the Grand Pavilion Shockwaves.

The entire season schedule for both
divisions can be found online. For more information log on to