‘Memory’ a memorable exhibit


The Persistence of Memory became a memorable experience for more than 100 people who attended the exhibition’s opening preview at the National Gallery last week. 

The exhibition, sponsored by Butterfield and now open to the public, features the works of 10 local artists, each of whom has created a piece that expresses their thoughts on how memories shape lives.  

Each artist has a unique approach, and the varying interpretations of the same topic is fascinating in itself. The fact that so many artists are exhibiting and that the showcase encompasses multi-media and installations as well as paintings has a wide appeal and is drawing a steady stream of visitors.  

Participating artists are: Wray Banker, Rita Powell, Davin Ebanks, Nasaria Suckoo-Chollette, Manuela Dack, Aston Ebanks, David Bridgeman, Kaitlyn Elphinstone, Greg Lipton and the Gallery’s own Anne Goulden. 

“We are very pleased with the vast spectrum of artwork that has been submitted for this show, from glass art to painting to audio and visual installations. It will be a treat for anyone who experiences it,” said Mona Watler, the National Gallery’s communications and marketing manager.  

“We encourage our schools to take advantage of the interactivity of the multimedia works on display,” she added. 

Those who want to view the exhibition but who would like some assistance interpreting the works of art are welcome to take a guided tour. Also, school groups can arrange for special tours by the education and outreach manager.  

For those who would like a deeper insight into the workings of an artist’s mind, exhibiting artists Mr. Bridgeman and Mr. Ebanks will discuss the artistic processes and experiences that led to the artwork they submitted at the gallery’s next lunch time lecture on 22 June. 

The exhibition at Harbour Place runs until August 2011. 

Gallery hours are: 9am to 5pm Monday-Friday and 11am to 2pm on Saturdays. For more information, call 945.8111. 


Artists gather with Butterfield CEO Conor O’Dea and Mike McWatt, among others. – Photos: submitted