Girls swinging for the fences

Local girls softball had a solid year in Cayman.

The girls division of the Cayman Islands Little League recently wrapped up a successful season with a series of all-star games and award presentations. Four teams of girls, aged 11-17, competed this season thanks to the generosity of corporate sponsors Conyers, Esso, Kirk Freeport, and First Caribbean International Bank.

The girls got to play three practice games, fifteen regular season games, a mini-tournament and three all-star games. Team Esso won the regular league with a 10-5 record and were runners up in the tournament.

Esso’s team members were Quianna Bennette, Belquis Bodden, Dru Bodden, Samantha Cridland, Kayleigh Ebanks, Khadija Ferron, Tanisha Gilbert, Tashaunda Hurlston, Jenneska Johnson, Jodie Lorimer, Kacie Ramos, Kayla Ramos, Ingrith Ritch, Tishauna Taylor and Selena Thomas. The sportsmanship trophy went to Cridland, while the most improved award went to Hurlston.

Team FCIB won the tournament at the end of the season after placing third in the league. Team members were Krystal Arch, Valeska Bennett, Tiffany Conolly, Lilliana Evans, Alisha Forbes, Samantha Hodgson, Alikie Kandler, Kira March, Alexis McDonald, Tishunda Prendergast, Macey Scott, Breana Welds, Liz Westin and Kamaria Whittaker. The sportsmanship trophy went to Bennett, while the most improved award went to Evans.

Team Kirk Freeport finished second in the league with an 8-7 record and missed out playing in the tournament finals by just one run. Team members were Kenniza Anderson, Lache Ebanks, Sarah Fawkes, Whitney Isaacs, Abby Lindsay, Ashley McLaughlin, Abigail Onfroy, Kaylee Parsons, Chelsea Pierson, Tennilliani Rankine, Daneliz Thomas, Erynn Walton, Brielle Watler and Kristi Welds. The sportsmanship trophy went to Parsons, while the most improved award went to Watler.

Team Conyers finished fourth in the league but had some fantastic results along the way. The Conyers girls were the champions of the post-season all-star series, being on the winning side for all three games. Team members were Rhonique Bodden, Demi Bush, Emma Conolly, Chelsea Duty, Astrid Ebanks, Gabby Ebanks, Gillian Hernandez, Mikayla Hydes, Zorie McBean, Breanne McCoy, Kianda Parchment, Britteny Purcell, Ebonee Walton, Sabrina Weber, Kayla Welds and Kayla Whittaker. The sportsmanship trophy went to Conolly, while the most improved award went to Hernandez.

Special thanks goes to all of the coaches, umpires and supporters. The girls are encouraged to participate in the summer co-ed league, which runs from 9 July-27 August. The deadline to register is 8 July. For more information visit

Comments are closed.