Seagrape House wins Governor’s Award for 2011

The 2011 Governor’s Award for Design and Construction Excellence in the Cayman Islands has gone to a recently-completed home in the Frank Sound area known as Seagrape House.

Governor Duncan Taylor made the announcement during an award ceremony at Government House on Wednesday, 30 November.

Owned by Graham and Janet Morse, Seagrape House is a sustainable home using state-of-the-art renewable energy technologies. Designed by architect John Doak, Seagrape House reflects the heritage of the Cayman Islands in a natural environment that has been largely preserved.

The home was built by Alan Veeran of Smart Construction Management with consultants CE+S Partners, Jeff Demme Geothermals, Mega Systems Ltd., Arista Engineering Ltd., and Vigoro Nursery Ltd.

Seagrape House beat out five other short-listed nominations to earn the award, now in its second year. The other short-listed nominations included the Kirk Freeport Bayshore Mall, Light House Point, the eco-friendly residence of Darren and Lisa Bowyer, the renewable energy home of James Knapp and Judy van Liere; and the home of Andrew and Sarah Bolton known as Trevose Residence.

Light House Point, the condominium development at North West Point, received a special commendation from the judges for excellence in sustainability and the environment.


governors award

Some of those accepting awards for Seagrape House were, from left, owner Janet Morse; contractor Alan Veeran; architect John Doak; and engineer Frank Reed.
Alan Markoff

Governors design house

Seagrape House

Comments are closed.