CITA board to be elected at meeting

The new fiscal year for The Cayman Islands Tourism Association is on the horizon, which means elections are due to take place for its new board of directors. 

With the exception of four of the top voted seats, these posts are elected by members annually. Any member business that is in good standing with the association and has been a member for at least one year is eligible to be nominated for a board position with the support of five member signatures.  

There are 13 board seats available that represent the various CITA sectors: hotel, condo/villa, water sports, transportation, restaurants, cruise, Sister Islands, and allied sector, which represents businesses in the community directly or indirectly supported by tourism (retailers, developers, wholesalers), said Erin Bodden of the association.  

“When one stops to think about it there are very few businesses on the Island that are not supported by tourism in one way or another as tourism is one of the two economic pillars of the Cayman Islands,” she said. “Cayman Islands Tourism Association’s Board of Directors have always been strong leaders, not only in their own businesses, but also within the community. They contribute their knowledge and expertise in tourism by directing the association. Directors set goals for the upcoming membership year ahead with specific focus on government issues such as safety, air arrivals, tourism training and development as well as working alongside the government on international promotions.” 


Report presentation 

The association’s annual general meeting will feature the group’s annual report presentation and will be the platform for proposed significant changes to bylaws. In addition to the final selection for 2012/13 board of directors, members will cast their votes on the proposed changes. This year’s meeting also marks another significant change to the association with Trina Savage-Christian leaving her post and the new director Jane van der Bol stepping up to take the reins.  

“The launch of the new Cayman Islands Tourism Association consumer-geared website and mobile app will be another exciting feature at the AGM,” Ms Bodden said. “As if that long list wasn’t enough reason to attend the AGM, the association is also offering a door prize of a return trip to any Cayman Airways gateway with all attendees to the AGM being entered to win. 

“Attendees will also have an opportunity to mix and mingle after the meeting’s adjournment, something that members look forward to at this annual gathering,” she said. 

The Cayman Islands Tourism Association encourages more businesses to get involved and help contribute to the success of CITA and tourism, said executive director Jane van der Bol. 

“We would love to welcome businesses in the community that are curious about the Cayman Islands Tourism Association to attend the annual general meeting in order to get a better sense of what the association is all about. We invite you to ask our members and staff about the association during the mix n’ mingle session after the meeting to learn more about the Cayman Islands Tourism Association,” she said. 

The 2012/13 annual general election is hosted by The Westin Casuarina Resort & Spa from 3 to 5.30pm in the Governor’s Ballroom on Wednesday, 25 April. All association members are welcome to attend and paid members will be eligible to vote for 2012/13’s board of directors. 


For more information contact the CITA at 949-8522. 

Hotel Director Nominees 

Enrique Tasende (serving a second year), Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort; John Wagner, The Westin Casuarina Resort & Spa; Lawrence Haughton, theReef Resort 


Condo Director Nominees 

Harry Lalli (serving a second year), Treasure Island Resort; Sherry Lee, Cayman Villas 


Restaurant Director Nominees 

Markus Mueri (serving a second year), Abacus, Deckers, Prime; Steven Hayes, Breezes by the Bay, Chicken! Chicken!, Cimboco 


Allied Directors Nominees 

Hugh Treadwell, Active Capital; Neil de Vere, K-Tone; Tim Adam (serving a second year), Cayman Turtle Farm 


Watersports Director Nominees 

Ash McKnight, Divers Down; Pete Foster-Smith, Sunset Divers 


Transportation Director Nominees  

Brian Krug, Budget Rent-A-Car; Nigel Mitten, Majestic Tours 


Cruise Nominee 

Kenneth Hydes, Camana Bay 


Sister Islands 

Neil van Niekerk, Southern Cross Club 


Erin Bodden

Ms Bodden