Junior Achievers honoured at gala

Some of Cayman’s brightest high school students who took part in the Junior Achievement programme have been honoured during a special anniversary version of their annual awards dinner recently held at the Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort.  

About 350 people, including board members, Junior Achievement members and sponsors, attended to pay tribute to this year’s winners. 

Paul Byles, president of Junior Achievement of the Cayman Islands, said that as the programme was celebrating its 20th anniversary, the evening was made even more special by having as the guest speaker a representative from Junior Achievement worldwide. 

“This is the first time JA worldwide has been to Cayman,” he said. “So we were delighted to welcome Linda Rimer, president and CEO, Junior Achievement Americas and Asia Pacific, as a speaker at our awards ceremony.” 

This year’s Young Caymanian Leadership Awards recipient, Garth Arch, was also a speaker. 

Mr. Byles sais that as well as giving out a host of awards on the evening, a new award had been created this year dedicated to Pat Randall and it carries his name.  

“Pat has been a board member of JA since its beginning 20 years ago,” he said. “He was also a past JA president for many years, so, after all those years of service to the organisation it was appropriate that an award should be given in his honour. This special award will be presented annually and went this year for the first time to Jason Foster from Cayman Brac.” 

This year, the individual and team awards went to: President of the Year, Laila Shim; Vice President of Finance, Shanda Johnson; Vice President of Marketing, NorDania Stewart; Vice President of Production, Erin Powell and Kendra Ebanks; Vice President of Human Resources, Kimberly Young; Most Promising Male Achiever, Shannon Williams; Most Promising Female Achiever, Shanique Ayres; Product of the Year, Dart Ready to Succeed; Company of the Year, Dart Ready to Succeed; Sales Person of the Year, Danielle Connolly.  

The Next Generation Leadership Awards are awarded to the top eight achievers after participating in an interview process and giving a presentation about the economy in the Cayman Islands. These awards were presented to Brooke Parchment, Jason Foster, Kendra Ebanks, Chester Frederick, Kimberly Young, Moses Ebanks, Erin Powell and Danielle Connolly. These eight students will travel to Nova Scotia in August to attend a week-long Junior Achievement Next Generation Leadership Conference. 


For more information on Junior Achievement call 949-4306. 

RTS Company of the year

David Kirkaldy, president of the Chamber of Commerce, with the Junior Achievement Company Ready to Succeed winners.

Paul and Linda Rimer

Linda Rimer, president and chief executive officer of Junior Achievement Americas and Asia Pacific; accompanied by Junior Achievement President Paul Byles.

Pat Randal award

From left are Cayman Islands Governor Duncan Taylor; Pat Randall; Jason Foster, recipient of the Pat Randal Award; and Paul Byles, president of Junior Achievement. – Photos: Submitted