A toast to GC Toastmasters

Grand Cayman Toastmasters Club recently celebrated and highlighted its achievements of the past year and awards were given to honour the contribution and dedication shown by the members. 

Ingrid Powell received the Outstanding Toastmaster of the year award. This award honours Toastmasters whose dedication and contribution over the past year helped the club fulfil its mission and achieve its goals. 

She served on two committees, obtained the Advanced Communicators’ Bronze Award, attended 80 to 90 per cent of her meetings and was the 2012 Speech Contest Champion. 

Additionally, she performed six evaluations, 17 meeting roles and mentored three new members, as well as participating in five inter-club visits to the new Eminent Orators Club launched this year. 

During the evening, the executive committee was changed over; the outgoing President P. Natalia Turnquest presented the report for year 2011-2012 and handed over to the new President Pamella Blackwood, whose acceptance speech re-affirmed the Toastmaster’s Promise and the New Exco’s commitment to leadership and public speaking. 

Several awards were also given: Long standing member awards for over 10 years of service, sponsors awards and commitment/contribution awards. There was also the induction of five new members and the installation of eight new officers. 

Toastmasters has helped over 4 million people worldwide to overcome their fear of public speaking. Started in 1924 by Dr. Ralph Smedley. Grand Cayman Toastmasters Club was chartered in 2000 with over 20 members. 

The club has accomplished many things throughout the past year. They have gained 15 new members, introduced a youth leadership programme and mentored a new club that was launched.  

Additionally, they coached the Miss Cayman Islands beauty contestants in the art of public speaking and had a hands-on leadership workshop at the Marriott, which was hosted by 2005 World Champion of public speaking, 
Lance Miller. 

Outstanding Toastmaster Cayman

Ingrid Powell receiving the Outstanding Toastmaster of the Year award.