New chairwoman for tourism organisation

Beverly Nicholson-Doty of the United States Virgin Islands was elected unopposed as chairman of the Caribbean Tourism Organisation’s Council of Ministers and Commissioners of Tourism.  

She will replace Senator Ricky Skerritt, who has held the post for two years. 

In keeping with the constitution, Deputy Commissioner Chantal Figueroa has been appointed by Commissioner Nicholson-Doty to head the board of directors. 

Five vice chairmen were also elected to serve on the executive committee of the board of directors. They are St. Maarten, representing the Dutch Caribbean; Martinique representing the French Caribbean; St. Lucia and Trinidad and Tobago, representing the Caribbean Community countries and Bermuda representing the British Overseas Territories. Each of these member countries will form the executive committee of the board of directors, which will be completed with representatives from the private sector. 

The vote was held at the organisation’s State of the Industry conference in St. Kitts and was in keeping with the constitution, which mandates that elections must be held every two years. 

Comments are closed.