Racers shift chain of command

Local motorsports will establish executive leadership for 2013.

The Cayman Motorsports Association will be staging its annual general meeting on Wednesday, 23 January, at 7pm at the clubhouse above Tony’s Toys warehouse on the Progressive Loop in George Town.

Current association president Karyll Iton states members are encouraged to vote.

“This meeting is open to all, but only paid members will be allowed to vote,” Iton said. “We aim to start voting at 7.30pm. Should you have any questions, do not hesitate to drop us an email at [email protected]

“We look forward to seeing you all and lets make 2013 the best year for motorsports yet.”

Iton, who took over for Kim Kirkconnell last year, is joined on the executive board by vice president Matthew Seales, who replaced Bobby Hulse, treasurer Ajoni Ambersley and secretary Nikko Miller.

The current board members are established local autocross racers. They are long-time participants in the association’s Time Attack series, a monthly autocross competition which usually takes place at the Progressive Loop.

News of the meeting comes after the recently concluded 2012 Time Attack season. Jimel McLean guided a Honda Civic to win the street and battle sections of the Two-Wheel Drive class, registering 425 and 450 points, respectively.

In the street category, McLean would beat out Aaron Haylock, who notched 365pts in a Civic and Reynaldo Powery, who had 300pts in a Nissan Primera. In the battle segment, McLean topped Powery’s 450pts and Haylock’s 150pts. The 2WD segment saw 18 drivers earn points this season, including veteran Roje Williams in his Nissan Silvia.

Alexander ‘AJ’ Conolly won the All Wheel Drive division in his Mitsubishi Evolution VIII with 300pts. Jose Massias had 225pts and Peter Jurgens notched 150pts. Nine people earned points this year, including Gabe Powell and Orantis Rankin in Evolutions.

In the Unlimited division, Keith ‘Speedy’ Tibbetts III ran his Valvoline Subaru Impreza Sti to the overall title. In the street segment, he notched 600pts to overshadow the 460pts of Tom Kirkconnell’s Mazda RX-7 and the 340pts of Bobby Hulse’s Toyota Altezza. The battle section saw Speedy earn 425pts, ahead of Hulse’s 365pts and Kirkconnell’s 350pts.