Hulse races back to pole position

Bobby Hulse is returning as the face of local motorsports.

Hulse was recently voted back in as president of the Cayman Motorsports Association for 2013. The George Town native is a stalwart on the association’s executive board, having served as vice president in 2011 and president in years past.

An established racer, Hulse takes over for Karyll Iton, who had a one-year stint at the helm. The highlight of Iton’s tenure was the introduction of head-to-head racing, with two drivers competing against each other simultaneously on George Town’s Progressive Loop, in the association’s Time Attack series, its signature event centred around autocross.

For 2013, Jimel McLean will be vice president and replaces Matthew Seales, who now shifts his attention to the treasurer position. Seales takes over for Ajoni Ambersley. Nikko Miller is the lone holdover from the past regime, serving as secretary once again.

The new board will look to maintain the momentum from last year. The 2012 campaign saw McLean dominate the street and battle sections of the Two-Wheel Drive class in a Honda Civic.

In the street category, McLean’s 425 points would beat out Aaron Haylock, who notched 365pts in a Civic and Reynaldo Powery, who had 300pts in a Nissan Primera. In the battle segment, McLean’s 450 points topped Powery’s 450pts and Haylock’s 150pts.

Alexander ‘AJ’ Conolly won the All Wheel Drive division in his Mitsubishi Evolution VIII with 300pts. Jose Massias had 225pts and Peter Jurgens notched 150pts.

In the Unlimited division, Keith ‘Speedy’ Tibbetts III ran his Valvoline Subaru Impreza Sti to the overall title. In the street segment, he notched 600pts to overshadow the 460pts of Tom Kirkconnell’s Mazda RX-7 and the 340pts of Bobby Hulse’s Toyota Altezza. The battle section saw Speedy earn 425pts, ahead of Hulse’s 365pts and Kirkconnell’s 350pts.

Comments are closed.