One-day battle set for March

Flag football will unveil a new competition in a few weeks. 

The Cayman Islands Flag Football Association will be hosting a one-day tournament on 2 March from 11am to 4pm at the T.E. McField Sports Centre in George Town. 

The event will feature eight-man and nine-man categories. The association’s eight-man national women’s team came up with the idea for the competition. 

News of the event comes as the association launches its 2013 co-ed league on Friday, 15 February. Matches will take place at the Ed Bush field in West Bay. 

Last year’s league also saw matches on Friday nights at Ed Bush. In all, 14 teams took part in the league with Kevin Solomon’s Child Please! and Phil Brown’s Cobras emerging the overall winners. 

The national women’s team is eager to move on from a disappointing showing at the 42nd annual US Flag and Touch League National Flag Football Championships in Kissimmee, Florida. Along with the national men’s team, the ladies were winless, losing their first two games and failing to advance past the initial stages. 

After the co-ed league and one-day tournament, the association intends to shift its attention to the youth league, which starts on Saturday, 16 February, and the national men’s league, which is scheduled for this summer. 

With that in mind, the association released a belated list of the top adult performers in 2012. Dave Velez of the Club House Bulldogs has bragging rights as the league’s Most Valuable Player. Perry Levy of the dms Hellcats earned Offensive Player of the Year kudos with teammate Damian Barboram earning Defensive Lineman and Defensive Player of the Year honours. 

The Maples Packers produced two elite players as quarterback Barrett Edri earned Rookie of the Year honours, while Andrew Graham was named Offensive Lineman of the Year. Simon Rivers of the Burger King Panthers was named Special Teams Top Performer with Club House’s Josh Parsons earning the Most Improved Player award. 

Phil Brown and Levy, playing for Child Please!, were named the B and A division MVPs of the co-ed league. Quarterbacks Chris Lucas (Team USA) and Antoinette Lewis (Team Jamaica) were named the male and female MVPs of the Caribbean Regional Cup, commonly called the I-Cup.  

The dms Hellcats toppled Club House to emerge national champs for the fourth straight season and the seventh time in nine years behind Finals MVP Renford Barnes. 

Levy, the association’s public relations officer, said the award winners were released late for various reasons. 

“The association had initially agreed that we would hold a single awards ceremony to cover all leagues and tournaments throughout the year rather than the typical ceremony after each event,” Levy said. “It was intended to be a more formal event with sit down dining with special invites to the minister of sports, etc.  

“Unfortunately, we couldn’t come to an agreement on how much we should spend on such an event and ultimately decided to scratch it and acclimate the awards ceremony with our Super Bowl party instead,” he added. 

The association held a party for Super Bowl XLVII on 3 February at Margaritaville. A raffle was on offer, featuring merchandise for the San Francisco 49ers and Baltimore Ravens.  


There is a $10 registration fee for the one-day tournament. For more information, call 929-9801 or e-mail [email protected]