Craig slides for podium finish

Craig Burke will be all the rage in local racing circles for weeks.

Burke drove his Subaru Impreza to the Street Class title in the March edition of the Cayman Motorsports Association’s monthly Time Attack series. Last Sunday’s race took place at the Progressive Loop, located on Sparky’s Drive in George Town.

Burke’s Impreza produced a time of 82.856 seconds, while Ajoni Ambersley would win the Battle segment in his Nissan Primera, with a time of 56.784 seconds. Ambersley would hold off Aaron Haylock in his Honda Civic EG, whose time was 56.901 seconds.

There were nine racers in the division, including brothers Kody and Nikko Miller in their Mitsubishi Mirage, Jody Jervis in a Mini Cooper, Troy Brady in a Mitsubishi Evolution VIII and Vicki Hulse in a Toyota Starlet.

Eight drivers would tackle the Unlimited Division, with Gary Huggins leading the way. He would race his Kimmar Distributors Toyota Starlet to the win in 77.294 seconds. Bobby Hulse would place second in 78.746 seconds with Tom Kirkconnell driving the Automotive Art Mitsubishi Mirage to third place at 79.686 seconds.

Hulse would rebound to win the Unlimited Battle segment in 52.718 seconds. Michael Weatherford was a close second in his Impreza RA at 52.785 seconds, while Marcus Huggins took his dad’s Kimmar Distributors Starlet to third place in 55.447 seconds.

Hulse, the motorsports association president, now has two Unlimited Battle run victories this year. Nikko Miller, the association secretary, won the Street Battle group in the season opener with Haylock claiming the Street category.

The 2013 Time Attack season sees its next race slated for 28 April. Meets continue at the end of every month until October, with the season-ending AL and Jay Memorial scheduled to take place on 24 November.

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now