Optimists crush Chaserz

The Optimists earned major kudos in their inaugural netball season. 

The squad won a share of the regular season title in Division Three of the Cayman Islands Netball Association 2013 Open League. Behind star shooter Milaney Dunn Garwood, Optimists would defeat Storm Chaserz, 38-20, in the season finale. 

Last Saturday’s match at the Truman Bodden Sports Complex netball courts was one-sided. Optimists had a 20-10 halftime lead and never looked back, registering scores of 13-5 and 5-6 in the last two quarters. 

Aside from Goal Shooter Dunn Garwood, Optimists featured Nekita Saintvil at Goal Attack, Charmaine Watson at Wing Attack, Sydonie Barrett at Centre, Sashana Ranger at Wing Defence, Christine Francis at Goal Defence, Trudy-Ann Baines at Goal Keeper with Pamela Blackwood and Alexandria Saintvil as subs. 

Chaserz countered with GS Haley D’Hue, GA Leandra Ramoon, WA Angelina Brown, C Amarrie Bodden, WD Anissa Sheow, GD Miyah Seymour and GK Shania Ebanks. 

The victory allows Optimists to march into the postseason at 4-1-1, tied for the regular season crown with the Ernst and Young Hot Shots.  

Ernst and Young got a forfeit victory over 1-5 Island Heritage last Saturday. Chaserz finished third at 2-4. Next up are the semifinals on Thursday, 18 April, with the final on 25 April. 

Last Saturday also featured the Championship Division in action. Storm Radarz, sponsored by Lone Star, improved to 5-2 with a 39-31 win over Rising Stars A, who dropped to 3-3. Guiding Storm to victory were offensive duo Lavern Ebanks and Sophia Foster.  

League action resumes this Thursday, 11 April, as 1-5 Flames Strikers battle 0-5 Unity at 6.45pm in the Championship Division, while the Plate Division sees 5-1 Cayman National Bank All Stars B facing 4-1-0 Supa Storm at 6.45pm. 

The 1-5 Royal Cayman Islands Police Service Renegades also challenge 2-1-2 Rising Stars B at 8pm. 

Comments are closed.