Caribbean Premier League takes shape as excitement builds up

The much-anticipated schedule for the inaugural Caribbean Premier League tournament has been announced by the organisers.

Matches will be played in six franchise countries – Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, St. Lucia and Trinidad and Tobago – in July and August.

Starting in Barbados on 30 July, with an opening ceremony followed by a Barbados versus St. Lucia match, games will be played on various days throughout the four-week period. Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels, Kieron Pollard, Adam Gilchrist and Ricky Ponting are among the stars in the tournament.

Cayman Islands based events company Kelly Holding are the media consultants for the CPL.

There will be a three-day break before the two semifinals, the final match and the closing ceremony which will take place in Trinidad and Tobago on 24 August.

Sundays through the tournament will feature a doubleheader with matches taking place at 3 and 7.30pm.

Caribbean Premier League organisers emphasised that in putting together the schedule, the aim was to make it as fair as possible for the franchise countries, but also ensure that there would be many exciting games between neighbouring and rival countries.

In addition, the fixtures have to work logistically in terms of elements such as travel for the teams and Caribbean Premier League staff and the transfer of television equipment and crew from venue to venue.

The result is a schedule that is workable and one where all teams will play three home games, three away games and one game in a neutral franchise country, for example Antigua against Jamaica in Guyana.

The fixtures are out in time to give both local fans and tourists the chance to plan their trips to witness what is expected to be the biggest and most exciting sporting event in the region.

The 2014 and 2015 CPL tournaments will take place from 5 July to 10 August and 21 June to 26 July, respectively.

Next on the CPL agenda is the announcement of details for the players draft event and confirmation of which teams the franchise players will be assigned to.