New board at Lions Club

The Lions Club of Grand Cayman appointed a new president and a new board at its 2013-2014 installation ceremony on Saturday 22, June. 

At the ceremony, held at The George Town Yacht Club, incoming President Winston Hayle accepted the president’s mantle, saying: “It is with great humility, that I accept the position of president, to assume responsibility for heading up this Club which, for over 40 years, has consistently rendered service to this community.  

“I am fully aware of the course ahead and the challenges lurking in the shadows but equally confident that with the collective effort of all those who so proudly wear this pin, there is no mountain we can’t climb or ocean we cannot sail.”  

He thanked Lion Immediate Past President Ian Callow for his leadership over the past year and Lion John Ebanks, past council chairman, for his support.  

Among the guests at the installation ceremony were Charter President Tommy Hurlston and his wife Dortha, Cayman’s National Hero Sybil McLaughlin and club presidents from other service clubs within the community. 

As well as working closer with other service clubs, including The Lions Club of Tropical Gardens Club, The Lions Club of Cayman Brac and The Leo Club of Grand Cayman, the club’s main aims this year are to continue strengthening its programmes, such as Big Brothers, Big Sisters, Leos Club of Grand Cayman, Lions Cycling For Sight, Lions Annual Spelling Bee, Lions sight screening, swim meets, reading, Christmas projects, PACE and seeking to engage in lending support in joint events such as Movember, and other youth programmes throughout the communities.  

Long Service Awards were presented to Lions Anthony Scott, Lenny Hew, Andrew Eden, Philip Barnes and Anthony Ritch. 


The new board of the Lions Club of Grand Cayman are, front row from left, Ewan Jacques, Treasurer Tannya Mortimer, President Winston Hayle, Cordella Chollette, and Immediate Past President Ian Callow, and back row from left, Lynval Watkins, Lee Ramoon, Alton Winston, Desmond Graham, Secretary Stephen Best, Johann Moxam, Steve Surrey, Albert Anderson, Anthony Ritch and Rayle Roberts. – PHOTO: SUBMITTED

Comments are closed.