Changes to Sister Islands planning board unveiled


The Cayman Islands Cabinet has shaken up the Sister Islands planning board, changing four of the seven positions. 

The new Development Control Board chairman is Arlin Tatum. Other fresh faces to the board are Alva Bodden and Zanda Scott. Additionally, Garston Grant returns to the board after leaving in mid-2009. 

Returning members are Edgar Ashton Bodden, Royce Dilbert and Melgreen Reid. According to the 24 July issue of the Cayman Islands Gazette, the Cabinet appointments are effective from July 2013 to July 2015. 

Members not reappointed include longtime chairman Ernie Hurlstone, as well as Larry Bryan and Ronald Kynes, each of whom had been on the Development Control Board for the past decade.  

Recently, Mr. Bryan was among the eight members swept from the Cayman Islands Airports Authority board by the government led by the People’s Progressive Movement, which took office in May. 

The Development Control Board considers planning applications for development projects on Cayman Brac and Little Cayman. 

The planning board with responsibility for Grand Cayman projects is the Central Planning Authority, which includes one member of the Development Control Board. (Mr. Hurlstone had been the Development Control Board’s representative on the Central Planning Authority.) 

The Central Planning Authority was last reappointed in June 2012 for a two-year term until 
June 2014.