Island Air has top-class touch

Island Air was crowned Division One winners of the KRyS Global Summer Mixed Touch Rugby League 2013, following an emphatic 11-2 final victory over Maples2.

Over the last few weeks, Island Air defeated close rivals SteppingStones to confirm their supremacy.

This was their first season together under the Island Air banner. They were captained by Brad Stephenson, who put together a potent mix of sizzling pace, guile and a great team spirit.

Island Air shook off early season wobbles and finally started to believe that they could take on reigning champions SteppingStones.

For sheer speed off the mark, and to burst through the gap, look no further than James Waters and Neal Ainscow. Then there was Shaun Hardcastle, a touch rugby veteran in his first season here in Cayman, he ran training sessions and provided the structure for many of the team’s plays.

Major credit goes to Island Air’s girls who, not only weighed in with their fair smattering of tries but also were nigh on impossible to score against, especially Laney Kerr, Ashley Waters and Chandra Friesen.

Stephenson was brimming with pride. He said: “It’s a lot of hard work getting a top team out on the park each week, but it really helps having a lot of dedicated touch players in the squad.

“A good mix of solid structure and champagne rugby is how we got there in the end, especially as the girls we have allow us to spread the ball right across the field.

“A special thanks to Marcus Cumber and Island Air for sponsoring the season. Marcus is passionate about the game and was a great addition to the squad.”

Island Air now goes for the double at the finals day playoffs. What is for certain is that the likes of SteppingStones, Maples1 and Genesis Five Nations will not be easily beaten.

Island Air winning team were: Brad Stephenson (captain), Ashley Waters, Richard Sawle-Thomas, Chandra Friesen, Laney Kerr, Emily Vaka-uta, James Waters, Jacqui Davis, Joanne Remillard, Keswick Wright, Lisa Bird, Marcus Cumber, Neal Ainscow, Nic Swartz, Shaun Hardcastle, Sheila Crosby and Brandon Smith.