Time Attack is plowing ahead

Only two more races remain in the local autocross season. The Cayman Motorsports Association is staging the next meet in its monthly Time Attack series this Sunday. The Progressive Loop in George Town will host the action from 1 p.m.

The last regular meet is scheduled for Oct. 27, with the Al and Jay Memorial taking place on Nov. 24 and the awards dinner and annual general meeting scheduled for Dec. 4.

Under the leadership of association president Bobby Hulse, Time Attack has featured a handful of drivers regularly since February. Hulse said a number of racers have done well this season, such as Craig Burke in his Subaru Impreza, father-son duo Marcus and Gary Huggins in the Kimmar Distributors Toyota Starlet KP61, and Michael Weatherford in an Impreza GC8. Hulse was also a notable competitor in a Toyota Altezza SXE10 and a Starlet EP82.

One of the big changes this season has been the absence of Keith Tibbetts III, who dominated last year’s races in the Valvoline Subaru Impreza Sti. The other big winners in 2012 were Jimel McLean’s Honda Civic and Alexander “AJ” Conolly’s Mitsubishi Evolution VIII. Scheduling-wise, there was added focus on night racing. Head-to-head racing, according to Hulse, will be a central part of meets going forward.

Mandatory registration for Sunday’s race is expected to be at Automotive Art Friday at 7 p.m.