McLaughlin continues to 
lead our best slammers

Ray McLaughlin will remain in charge of local dominoes. 

The Cayman Islands Domino Association recently re-elected McLaughlin as president at its annual general meeting. Staying as vice president is Gary Berry and Dareen Ebanks continues to be treasurer. 

Three other people kept their posts: Oleta Elliott is secretary, Sheena Taylor is assistant secretary and Derrick Elliott Sr. is the public relations chairman. The newly elected officials are Roshella Martin as assistant treasurer and Debbiann McDonald as the chairperson of the fundraising committee. 

McLaughlin was at the helm of the sport as the association concluded its 2012-2013 national league. This summer, East End Mystical Youth won its third straight championship by besting Island All-Stars, who McLaughlin has played for in the past. For the second consecutive season, the other playoff teams were Archies and team DLK. 

In a brief statement, the association said it intends to keep the momentum within the sport going. The statement reads, “We also wish to inform you that registration of all teams for the new season will take place next Thursday, Oct. 10, at 7:30 p.m. at Mango Tree. Afterward, matches will commence on Oct. 27. 

“We wish to thank you all for your kind patronage over the past couple of years and look forward to our continued relationship in this coming season.” 


Ray McLaughlin has a deep passion for dominoes. – PHOTO: MATTHEW YATES