Caymanian Bar Association elects new council members

Abraham Thoppil has been elected president of the 140-member Caymanian Bar Association. 

In elections last month, Brett Basdeo was elected vice-president, Neil Timms treasurer and Nick Rogers secretary. Outgoing president Dale Crowley returned as a council member, along with Anna Goubault and Nick Joseph, who have been joined by newly elected members Sharon Roulstone, Sophia Scott, and Stephen Watler.  

“We intend to build on the precedent set over the past three years under Mr. Crowley’s leadership and have already set our agenda for the coming year,” Mr. Thoppil said. “The recent level of interest in the CBA has been particularly encouraging and augurs well for the council’s continuing mandate of promoting the interest of the profession. We look forward to great results in what will be the CBA’s 26th year.” 

He said the council thanked outgoing member Martin Davies for his valuable input over the past year, “despite the notable time difference between Cayman and his location in the Singapore office of Walkers.”  

The Caymanian Bar Association was established in 1988 after senior Caymanian attorneys perceived the need for an organization to address issues of particular relevance to Caymanian attorneys and effectively to represent the views of Caymanian attorneys who were, and are, a minority in the profession in the Cayman Islands, where more than 600 attorneys are currently on the rolls. 

Comments are closed.