Five finalists for Young Caymanian Leadership Award

This year’s five finalists are getting ready to attend the 14th annual Young Caymanian Leadership Awards on Saturday, when the winner will be revealed.

This year’s finalists are: Kadi Merren-Pentney, Katrina Jurn, Michael Lockwood, Chevala Burke and Lydia Warren.

Every year, Caymanians ages 20 to 35 are nominated for the award, which is in its 14th year. The initiative is headed by the Young Caymanian Leaders Foundation and celebrates the work and 
achievements of local young people.

Motivational speaker and American philanthropist Dickson Beattie “Doc” Hendley will give the keynote speech at the awards ceremony at the Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman.

Mr. Hendley, 35, who was named one of CNN’s “Top 10 Heroes of the Year” in 2009, is founder of the Wine to Water charity, which has provided 250,000 people with clean water in 18 countries.

He said his message to this year’s young leadership award nominees is that one person really can make a big difference.

“You don’t have to view yourself as somebody exceptional or somebody very special. You really can be a normal everyday person and do extraordinary things,” said Mr. Hendley. “To me, it’s finding something that you are passionate about that you want to go after…”

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now