Registration for students enrolling in or transferring to government schools for the 2016-2017 school year opens Tuesday and will close on June 24.

Registration for reception classes is open for qualifying children who are 4 years old before Sept. 1.

The government primary schools that have reception classes are John A. Cumber, George Town, Prospect, Savannah, Bodden Town, North Side and East End on Grand Cayman, and West End and Creek primary schools on Cayman Brac.

Registration for year 1 students is open to children who are 5 years old before Sept. 1.

Older students transferring between government schools, re-entering government schools, or entering the schools for the first time should complete registration before the June 24 deadline in order to be eligible to attend school at the start of the year.

Children registering after June 24 cannot be guaranteed space at their nearest school.

Completed registration forms should be returned to the Department of Education Services or the Cayman Brac Teachers Centre, with a copy of the child’s birth certificate, immunization card, documentation of the child’s immigration residency category, proof of address, and the last year’s school report if the child is transferring from another school, including private local schools and overseas schools.

Students transferring to John Gray or Clifton Hunter high schools need to include a transcript from the last high school they attended. The Department of Education Services will check the documentation and determine the school assignment. Following approval by the senior school improvement officer, the school secretary will make an appointment for a medical examination with the public health nurse. Parents can also arrange for an examination from a private doctor. The examination must be completed before a child is enrolled.

Priority admission to government schools is given first to Caymanians with proof established by a birth certificate, passport or status certificate, then to dependents of Caymanians. Dependents of contracted government employees can be admitted when space is available following the close of registration, and then dependents of permanent residents are admitted when space is available following the close of registration.

Class sizes are capped for reception and year 1 at 24 students, and 28 for all other year groups. Where maximum class sizes are exceeded in the school, spaces will be offered for qualifying students at the nearest school with available space.

All non-Caymanian qualifying students must pay school fees. Fees for year 1 to 6 are $250 per term or $750 per year. Fees for year 7 to 9 are $300 per term or $900 per year, and fees for year 10 to 12 are $400 per term or $1,200 per year.

Grand Cayman residents can pay school fees at the treasury counter in the Government Administration Building, and Sister Islands residents can pay at the Cayman Brac Teachers Centre.

Registration will take place at the Department of Education Services in Grand Cayman, and at Cayman Brac Teachers Centre for students on Cayman Brac and Little Cayman. Parents can pick up registration forms at government schools, the Department of Education Services at 130 Thomas Russell Way in George Town, at the Cayman Brac Teachers Centre, or download the form from the schools website.

For more information about school registration and details on school catchment areas, visit

Comments are closed.