Private schools track and field meet on Friday

Cayman Prep and High School are favored to retain their hold on the Murray Westerborg and Big Schools Trophies at the 2016 Private Schools Track & Field Championships on Friday at the Truman Bodden Stadium, organizers said in a press release.

The defending champions, Dominic Dyer, Will Edwards, Molly Kehoe, Corey Westerborg, Jaden Francis, Victor Magalhaes, Oscar Akiwumi and Jasun Sair­singh, are seen as favorites to maintain their track and field dominance over their private high school rivals.

As last year, when they missed by nine points from toppling their bigger rivals, the Combined Schools of Cayman Academy (last year’s Small Schools’ Champions), Cayman International, Wesleyan Christian, Triple C, Montessori By the Sea, Hope Academy and Grace Academy, are likely to pose the most serious threats to the Overall Championship Trophy held by Cayman Prep, the press release states.

Their top athletes include Maryn McCoombs, Sydane Barrett, Vinton Wedderburn, KC Gordon, Kenjoyna Lemont, Thalia Naranja, Lenworth Bailey and Valeska Bennett.

St. Ignatius High’s team includes Isaiah Robinson, Deajra Tulloch, Joshua Cox, Dante Baptiste, Phillip-Andrew Sciamonte, Callum Theaker, Azuka Obi, Dominic Owens, Bianca Meghoo, Isabella Powery and Adebayo Oremule.

The public is invited to come and watch the more than 140 events at the meet, which runs from 9 a.m. until about 2:30 p.m.

Comments are closed.