Isabel Mendes won the ladies competition and Andrew Linford won the men’s championship in the 2016 Cayman Islands Golf Association’s annual President’s Trophy contest at the North Sound Golf Club on Saturday.

A total of 79 golfers, ages 11 to 72 and older, took part in the four divisions, an increase in participation of around 40 percent over last year, organizers said in a press release.

The President’s Trophy is contested over one round of 18 holes and is a stroke-play handicap event with the winners being those with the lowest net score.

In the ladies division, Mendes had a net score of 68. Runner-up Maria Butler scored 70.

In the senior men’s category (age 50 and over), Mick Whitworth won with a net score of 69. Last year’s senior champion Dave Champoux finished second with a net score of level-par 71.

A new division was added this year: super seniors (men age 65 and over). The winner was Bill Knibloe with a score of 64. Robert Oosterwyk was second with 68.

A total of 47 golfers contested the men’s event, with the trophy going to Andrew Linford, who scored 66. Neil Purton was second, with 67, and two players scored 68 – Daniel Kirkconnell and Greg O’Driscoll. The latter took third place after a tie-breaker.

Annual General Meeting

The golfers remained at the club for the association’s Annual General Meeting, in which a new committee of volunteers was elected to administer golf on the island for 2017.

Given the huge success of the Junior Program, a new Junior Subcommittee will be formed to organize golf tuition and competitions for players age 17 and under, the press release states.

CIGA President Paul Woodhouse, who was re-elected to serve in 2017, thanked the North Sound Golf Club for all their help over the year, and thanked all of the sponsors. He also announced the launch of a new CIGA member benefits program in partnership with several local businesses.

For details on membership benefits, application forms and information about tournaments and programs, visit

Comments are closed.