The winners of the 2019 Governor’s Conservation Awards were announced Thursday night at a ceremony at Government House.

In this photo, Governor Martyn Roper, centre, and National Trust Executive Director Nadia Hardie, left, stand with representatives of the winners, who are: Hurley’s Marketplace (Corporate Conservation Award), Ann Stafford (Heritage Preservation Award), Dwayne Frederick (Conservationist of the Year Award), Jean-Michel Cousteau’s Ambassadors of the Environment (Tourism Industry Conservation Award) and Protect Our Future (Lois Blumenthal Youth Conservation Award).

If you value our service, if you have turned to us in the past few days or weeks for verified, factual updates, if you have watched our live streaming of press conferences or sent an article to a friend... please consider a donation. Quality local journalism was at risk before the coronavirus crisis. It is now deeply threatened. Even a small amount can go a long way to sustaining our mission of informing the public. We need our readers’ financial support now more than ever.