Accountants’ awards gala celebrates milestones

Cristian Crescente, Saneata Smith, Chris Bodden, Briana Bodden, Chantelle Esau, Kelsie Woodman-Bodden, Racquel Brown and Geoffrey Butler were some of the newly qualified accountants at the event.

The 12th Annual CIIPA Awards Gala at the Kimpton Seafire Resort brought together accountants, government officials and educators to celebrate milestones and achievements on Saturday evening.

The event organised by the professional body for accountants recognised 14 Caymanians for completing their Bachelor’s in Accounting, five for earning their Master’s degrees and 14 who attained their professional accounting designations.

“Since the beginning of the gala in 2008, we are celebrating the most newly qualified accountants this year,” said Sheree Ebanks, CEO of CIIPA.

CIIPA President Chris Gauk congratulated the newly qualified accountants noting, “What you have accomplished is no easy feat, but I can assure you, the hard work pays off. You have opened the door to a world of opportunity.”

The evening included three special awards. Samantha Hennings was named Rising Star for her contributions to KPMG’s scholarship programme, as well as CIIPA’s Training and Education Committees. Outstanding Member went to Ben Leung for his leadership of the CIIPA Training Committee, and his community work both personally and through his firm EisnerAmper.

Retired Deloitte partner Michael Pilling was recognised as a Pioneer for his contributions to the profession, including seeing through the first accountants’ legislation in the Cayman Islands, and for his work in the community through Cayman Arts Festival and Friends of the Library.

Barbara Bodden, Brooks Berry, Rayshawn Connor, Rochel Gardener, Nikita Rose Gonzales, Adah Grant, Julia Hislop, Kaynesha Hurlston, Erin McLean, Kimberly King, Daniel Murphy, Sean Murphy, Kerryann Simpson and Soraya Taylor obtained a Bachelor’s in Accounting.

Geoffrey Butler, Shirley Culbert, Kimberly David, Chantelle Esau and Iain McCallum completed their Masters’ in Accounting.

And Briana Bodden, Chris Bodden, Racquel Brown, Geoffrey Butler, Chantelle Esau, Marc Giglioli, Simon Jenkinson, Ann Kinch and Saneata Smith gained their CPA designation, while Kelsie Woodman-Bodden, Cristian Crescente, Melissa Durrant, Stephanie Hunter and Abigail Stoddart attained the ACCA designation.

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now