Season wraps up for Cayman junior tennis

The Tennis Federation of the Cayman Islands PwC Junior Grand Prix Finals concluded Saturday, 16 Nov., at the Cayman Islands Tennis Club. It was the last tournament for 2019 in Cayman’s junior tennis circuit, which features top junior players that qualified earlier in the year to earn a spot to play at the year-end event.

Spectators were treated to highly competitive final in the 18 and under division. Oskar Bjuro took on Lauren Fullerton and the match was back-and-forth with Fullerton taking the first set 5-7 but Bjuro charging back with a 6-3 win in the second, forcing a decisive third. There, Bjuro was serving for the match at 5-2 but Fullerton managed to break back twice before eventually losing 7-5. In that same age group, Jakub Neveril topped Jake Booker for bronze, 5-7, 7-6(4), 2-0. In the 14 and under class, Rafael Wejbora took gold after his 6-2, 6-2 win over Jake Fagan. Phin Ellison took 3rd place in the age group with a 6-3, 6-2 victory over Josh Richardson. In the 10 and under final, Leo Frank defeated Mico Samson, 6-4, 6-4. Noah Mitten claimed third after defeating Lea Neverilova, 6-4, 6-4. The culminating event also honoured the year-end top players, with Jake Booker, Rafael Wejbora and Noah Mitten all taking top player of the year in their respective divisions.

Special awards:

Rafael Wejbora

Best Sportsmanship Award:
Daniel Suico

Most Improved Player:
Leo Frank

The Paul Howard Award:
Jay Jackson

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now