Power team named

Mr. Arden McLean, Minister for Communications, Works and Infrastructure, has named the team that will negotiate with Caribbean Utilities Company on the electricity provider’s contract with government.

Attorney Olivaire Watler is the team chairman. Mr. Charles Farrington is deputy chairman.

Other members are Attorney Sammy Jackson, Mr. Winston Hay, Mr. Philip Thomas and a consultant from ICF out of Washington DC, Mr. Elliott Rosmond.

The minister explained that Mr. Hay was recommended to Cayman by the World Bank. He was described as the first director of the utilities commission in Jamaica.

Mr. Thomas is a member of Cayman’s Electricity Regulatory Authority, formed earlier this year (Caymanian Compass, 22 April).

At the People’s Progressive Movement national council meeting in East End on Thursday night, Mr. McLean reminded listeners that the new government had made a commitment to reopen talks with CUC on their exclusive licence.

He said he had taken the six names to Cabinet in October for consideration as the new negotiating team. The team had had its first meeting that very day, he revealed.

The first meeting with CUC has been set for 23 November.

Mr. McLean said government was excited about the calibre of the people on the team. He announced the names again at government’s regular press conference on Friday morning.

Comments are closed.