Immigration graduates lauded

In a festive graduation ceremony, 11 Immigration Department officers were presented certificates and recognised for their hard work in training and, for those already in the role, for their performance as officers.

Farrah Parchment and Melissa Hurlston

Farrah Parchment (2006) and Melissa Hurlston (2005).

The 2004 and 2005 classes did not receive the traditional recognition ceremony upon completion of their training because of Hurricane Ivan and its lingering effects, commented Chief Immigration Officer Franz Manderson in a GIS press release.

During the ceremony, held 21 March at the Westin Casuarina Resort, he lauded them for their commitment to their posts and Cayman.

‘I must tell you that passing the training was actually the easy part of your journey,’ he said. ‘You will soon learn to balance your border-control duties with the equally important duties of being a good ambassador for your department and the Cayman Islands, for it is also your duty to proffer a warm Caymanian welcome to all passengers – whether it is a Caymanian, work-permit holder or tourist.’

Special recognition was given to these officers, who excelled during training:

Kathy-Ann Greenidge-Forbes – Best Academic Officer (2004)

Josen Ebanks Best All-Around Officer (2004)

Rodney Parchment – Best Academic Officer (2006)

Cindy Bustillo – Best All-Around Officer (2006)

Ms Bustillo spoke on behalf of her class, expressing the overwhelming feeling of achievement at becoming part of the Immigration family.

‘We have learned not only about immigration laws and regulations, and the necessity for diversified customer service, but also how to use good humour and teamwork to make our work successful.’

Immigration Officer graduates


Josen Ebanks

Raymond Gayle

Kathy-Ann Greenidge-Forbes

Christopher McField

Stafford Millwood

Eugene Myles


Melissa Hurlston


Cindy Bustillo

Avel McLaughlin

Farrah Parchment

Rodney Parchment

Comments are closed.