dms accepting applications for Joanna Clarke Award

dms Organization Ltd. has officially launched its call for applicants for the 2009 Joanna Clarke Excellence in Education Award.

Annually, dms donates up to $12,000 to a worthy recipient(s) who demonstrates excellence in education.

‘We are thrilled to begin the application process for the Joanna Clarke Excellence in Education Award. With over 40 years of service, and having helped shape the lives of so many students, Ms Clarke has made a lasting impression on education in the Cayman Islands,’ said Don Seymour, president of dms..

‘With this award, we are seeking initiatives that leave a similar lasting impact in the education field.’

Recognising the importance of public sector support for education, dms introduced the award to honour Ms Clarke, and publicly acknowledge the efforts of all persons and organisations that contribute to education in the Cayman Islands.

The 2007 recipient was Savannah Primary School for its playground project. And, in 2008 John Gray High School won the award for its ‘Blueprint for Literacy’.

Mr. Seymour went on to add, ‘The education of Cayman’s youth is of particular significance to all of us at dms, and is a part of our ongoing commitment to serving our community through donations, sponsorships and volunteer efforts. Now, in our third year of presenting this award, we are looking forward to seeing what the community brings forth.’

Applications for the Joanna Clarke Excellence in Education Award are being circulated throughout Cayman Islands’ schools and are available at the award web site

The deadline for applications is 17 April 2009.

Ms Clarke commented, ‘Enriching the lives of Cayman’s youth through education has been the cornerstone of my purpose. They are the future of our country and I am honoured to have been selected as the namesake for this award.’

The Joanna Clarke Award Committee will carefully review all applications submitted, and if several worthy projects are identified, they may provide grants to multiple organisations up to $12,000 in total.

The JCA Committee consists of the Ms Clarke; President of dms Organization Ltd., Don Seymour; Literacy Education Specialist, Tanya Marie Dwight; Red Bay Primary School’s Literacy Coordinator, Anne Briggs; President of Savannah Primary School’s PTA, Mark Scotland; John Gray High School’s Reading Specialist, Lydia Warren; and News Director of CITN, April Cummings.


For further information and to obtain an application contact Kim Fellman, dms Organization Ltd. Marketing Coordinator, at 814-4279 or [email protected].

Any person or body involved in or affiliated with education is eligible for consideration, including but not limited to; teachers/teaching departments, students, PTAs, and schools.

Comments are closed.