United girls’ stats tell all

Women United showed their dominance in women’s football in the this season in the Cayman Islands Football Association Under-17 competition taking two championships.

The Women United U17 team who were crowned champions of the CIFA FA Cup on Ash Wednesday after defeating Future SC 3-0 are now runaway champions of the U17 league.

Women United achieved this with impressive stats, winning all their games and not conceding a single goal.

The Bobby McLaren coached girls won the league with 24 points, eight clear of second placed Future SC.

The leading goal scorer went to Alyssa Chin who scored seven times during the competition. Breeann Wright was next with six goals.

Coach McLaren said: ‘I feel blessed and happy about working with a group of people who are striving for excellence. I thank God for winning these trophies and my focus is now directed at the Women’s Senior League trophy.

‘I believe we have a very good chance of repeating our success in this competition this season.

‘Thanks to all the parents and supporters who have never run short in being around to give the team all the motivation they needed to go forward.’

Alyssa Chin said: ‘I feel very special I have never won an individual award and this is what gives me this unique feeling. I really worked hard and with the support of my team mate scored seven goals.’

‘My intensions going forward are to keep playing good football and become a professional player and represent the Cayman Islands. Coach Bobby is like my second father and my team mates are like my sisters. If I had a choice I would play with this team for the rest of my life.’

Team captain Brianna Hydes said: ‘I feel like a champion, it feels good to have put out all this effort and have gotten these rewarding results. These results were based on the hard work that the team and the coach put out. I thank Coach Bobby the parents and all the supporters as without them this would not have been possible.’

‘I also want to use this opportunity to thank CIFA and all the members of the Women’s Committee for organizing this competition.’

Comments are closed.