Speedy wins big

The first motorsports event of the month went off without a hitch.

Last Saturday saw the first of two Time Attack races take place at Breakers Speedway.

This month sees two of the Cayman Motorsports Association events after last month saw no races.

Some 18 racers came out to compete across some five divisions in the form of the Front-Wheel, Rear-Wheel and All-Wheel Drive categories plus the unlimited and corporate sections.

Among the racers was West Bay native and relative newcomer Josen Ebanks in his track-ready Toyota Starlet.

Dozens of spectators looked on from the grandstands as all sorts of cars took to the track, including a Porsche Cayman.

By night’s end a handful of racers would walk away with bragging rights.

Roje Williams blazed his Toyota Starlet to victory in the FWD class in a time of 57.750s. His performance puts him in good stead to claim the overall trophy at season’s end.

TA regular John Godfrey ran away with the RWD class as he spun his Supra to the win in a time of 59.381s. With Godfrey playing catch-up in the overall standings the win gives him a big boost.

Keith P. Tibbetts III, better known as Speedy, took his Valvoline-sponsored Subaru Impreza Sti to the win in the AWD class in a time of 56.224s.

Andy Bodden won the Unlimited division in the Automotive Art-sponsored Mitsubishi Mirage with an event best time of 55.275s.

In the newly introduced Corporate class Nikko Miller (who moonlighted as commentator on the night) took home the win in a time of 59.394s.

For the class three drivers took turns in the Automotive Art-sponsored Volvo S40 turbocharged automatic sports sedan.

In the end Speedy would win the battle run in a time of 94.435s

For more detailed results log on to www.csn.ky.