Dover provided plenty of heroes

Some of Jamaica’s best drivers were recently in action and those from Cayman were more than able to keep up.

rambo at dover

Rambo carved his way to victory lane often.
Photo: Matthew Yates

The 2009 season of circuit racing organized by the Jamaica Race Driver’s Club (JRDC) at Dover Raceway came to a thrilling climax on Heroes Day last Monday with the final race meet of the year.

This season, often referred to as the Caribbean Circuit Championship, saw record attendance, very close racing and an increasing number of competitors across all three races.

There were a total of 15 races scheduled for the day and culminated with the Lime ‘Fallen Heroes’ Thundersport race.

Of the three motorcycle races run on the day, all were dominated by champion rider Stephan Chin on his Holey Bulla sponsored Honda CBR 600RR race machine. He posted the fastest time of the day at 1:23.521 seconds.

Dennis Chin Quee on a Yamaha 600 R6 secured a second place and two fourth place finishes, with Halquin Rodney placing second twice and placing fourth in the first race.

Adrian Blake was the other podium finisher with three solid third place finishes on a Honda 600 RR.

In the Improved Production Class 27 category, points leader Stephen Bansie in the Scotia Group Subaru Impreza WRX Sti Spec C romped to victory in race one after qualifying on pole, and was also first across the line in race two.

A treble would not happen though as he was demoted to fifth place after he received a penalty for breaking out of the time bracket.

Nevertheless Bansie won the IP27 championship for the second year running. Neil Gore in the Team Mobay Racing Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X was second in race one and was set to repeat that placing for race two, but was gifted the win with Bansie’s breakout.

Third place in race one was George Bayley in a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution VII while in race two Charles Maxwell in the CRC Racing Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution was second and debutant Joel Jackson third in the Jetcon Racing Subaru Impreza.

Overall Neil Gore placed second in this year’s category while last year’s winner, Gary Williams, placed third.

The Improved Production 33 category saw rising star Peter Jaggon in the Jaggon Gases/Horse P Racing Honda Civic CRX cross the line first in race one, but was demoted to fifth place because of breaking out.

Last year’s overall Dover champion Gary Barrett, driving the Jump Fence Racing/Car City Honda Civic, was promoted to first place.

He was closely followed by young Kyle Gregg in the BD Gregg and Bros. Honda Civic while Heath Causwell in the Blue Waters Mitsubishi Mirage came third.

In race two it was Barrett completing the double followed by Dean Corrodus in the Kumho Tires Honda Civic Type R and Chris Wright in Horse P Racing’s Purple Turtle Honda Civic Coupe.

Those results came after breakout penalties were applied to Gregg, Jaggon, Sebastian Rae and Andy Bodden of Cayman.

Bodden’s break-out was especially disappointing after running a number of fast lap times during qualifying on Sunday in the Tony’s Toys Honda Civic.

The Improved Production 37 class featured a showdown between Brian Foster in the Sherwin Williams Honda Civic hatchback and Rohan Clarke in the Team Xpress Racing Nissan Pulsar.

Both were upstaged by Peter Jaggon who won race one followed by Raymond Donaldson in a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution and Nigel Edwards in a turbocharged Volkswagen Golf out of the Team Brown’s Town camp.

In Race two it was Charles Chen’s turn to score a maiden victory in his Evo 8 followed by Edwards and Jaggon.

In the Improved production 45 category, Raymond Donaldson won race one ahead of Nigel ‘The Druggist’ Thomas in a Mitsubishi Lancer and Kayde ‘Preacher’s Son’ Walker in a VW Golf from Team Brown’s Town Racing.

In race two Neil Blenham won in a Peugeot in front of David Senior in an Acura Integra and Walton Small in a Toyota Corolla.

Over in the Modified Production categories, class one (MP1), for cars with an engine displacement not exceeding 1800cc, Kyle Gregg raced ahead of his rivals to take the win, followed by Brian Foster and Gary Barrett.

In race two, it was the same story and the same results except Dean Corrodus claimed third.

In MP2 Teddy Burton, in the Xavia Murray prepared turbo-charged Honda Civic, put on a fine performance to win both races, followed by stable mate Alan Chen in a turbo-charged, rear wheel drive Toyota Corolla.

Third in both races was Dean Shaw in the Wilshaw Racing Pro Challenge truck, possibly his strongest performance to date.

Douglas Gore won the first Modified Production Class 3 race, sharing the limelight with Chris Campbell and his father Neil Gore in second and third, all in Evolutions.

In Race two, it was a come from behind win for David Summerbell, literally driving on the road all the way from Gore’s Team Mobay Racing garage in Montego Bay to cross the line first after an all-nighter to replace a damaged engine block.

His benefactor (Doug Gore) was close on his heels however. Gore would not be in his usual Evolution 5, as that car damaged its engine too, but rather in the Evolution X which in turn was to finish the day by the side of the road with suspected engine damage as well. Third across the line in this class was K. Marston in a Mazda 323.

The LIME Thundersport category sees the fastest cars on track at each meet and Chris Campbell wrapped up a fine second season of racing by not only winning race one but the championship as well in his blue and white Casa’s Garage-prepared Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IV.

Second place went to a hard-charging David Summerbell in a thrilling ‘start from the back of the pack drive.’ Many spectators felt because Summerbell was late, never qualified and stayed up all night to change his engine that he was more determined than ever to put on a show.

Third went to Peter ‘Bull’ Thompson in his turbocharged Mazda RX7. In race two, Summerbell turned the tables on Campbell and crossed the line first, with Campbell and Thompson following him across the line, albeit some distance behind.

The 2009 championship positions and awards took place on Friday October 23 at the Pegasus Hotel.

The meet was sponsored by Lime, Pegasus Hotel, Power 106, KLAS Sports Radio, IRIE FM, National Supplies, TVJ, D&G’s Malta, Tropical Battery, Tyre Warehouse and The Gleaner.

For further information, call Daneisha Morgan at the Jamaica Race Driver’s Club office at 924-JRDC or visit the club’s website at